Taxonomy Code207W00000X

Learn more about provider taxonomy code 207W00000X

More about Ophthalmology providers

In general, the Ophthalmology specialty is very male-centric with 76% of providers reporting as male as compared to 23% reporting as female. People living in California, New York, Texas, Florida, and Pennsylvania enjoy living in one of the 5 most popular states/territories where Ophthalmology providers practice. In all, there are 35,649 registered Ophthalmology providers in the United States with over 3,790 of those located in California alone while around 2,880 chose to practice in New York.
Ophthalmology providers have been assigned the 207W00000X taxonomy code in the NPI registry, which is a Level II Classification. Click here for more information about medical specialty types.

Overall, Ophthalmology specialists practice in 54 different states/territories and can be categorized into 1 different Ophthalmology sub-specialties: Ophthalmic Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery


What are Ophthalmology providers?

Find Ophthalmology providers in your state
An ophthalmologist has the knowledge and professional skills needed to provide comprehensive eye and vision care. Ophthalmologists are medically trained to diagnose, monitor and medically or surgically treat all ocular and visual disorders. This includes problems affecting the eye and its component structures, the eyelids, the orbit and the visual pathways. In so doing, an ophthalmologist prescribes vision services, including glasses and contact lenses.

Sub-specialities and taxonomies related to Ophthalmology (207W00000X)

Top 50 Ophthalmology (207W00000X) providers